3 members of Canada’s Women’s Soccer Team nominated for Ballon d’Or


Three players from Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team were nominated for the Ballon d’Or award on Friday. (Photo Credit – Canada Soccer)

Captain Christine Sinclair, Jessi Flemming, and Ashley Lawrence are among the 20 players shortlisted for the award.

Presided over by France Football, the Ballon d’Or is a yearly award given to the player with the best performance over the previous year.

The Ballon d’Or Feminin started in 2018, with Norwegian professional footballer, Ada Hegerberg becoming the inaugural winner of the award.

The other players shorlisted for the award are Alexia Putellas of Spain, Magdalena Eriksson of Sweden, Marie-Antoinette Katoto of France, Sam Kerr of Australia, Stina Blackstenius of Sweden, Wendie Renard of France, Samantha Mewis of USA, Pernille Harder of Denmark.

Vivianne Miedema of Netherlands, Sandra Panos of Spain, Lieke Martens of Netherlands, Irene Paredes of Spain, Ellen White of England, Christiane Endler of Chile, Jennifer Hermoso of Spain, Fran Kirby of England, and Kadidiatou Diani of France.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here