Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov win 2021 Nobel Peace Prize


Journalists, Maria Ressa of Phlippines, and Dmirty Muratov of Russia, were announced as the winners of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize, for their efforts to safeguard freedom of expression.

Ressa, the co-founder of Rappler, a digital media company for investigative journalism, uses freedom of expression to expose abuse of power, use of violence and growing authoritarianism in her native country, the Philippines.

Rappler has focused critical attention on the Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug campaign. The number of deaths is so high that the campaign resembles a war waged against the country’s own population.

Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov also co-founded an independent newspaper in Russia, the Novaja Gazeta, in 1993. He has been the Editor-in-Chief of the newspaper since 1995

has for decades defended freedom of speech in Russia under increasingly challenging conditions. In 1993, he was one of the founders of the independent newspaper Novaja Gazeta.

The newspaper has published critical articles on subjects ranging from corruption, police violence, unlawful arrests, electoral fraud and ”troll factories” to the use of Russian military forces both within and outside Russia.

At least six journalists of the newspaper, including Anna Politkovskaja, who wrote revealing articles on the war in Chechnya, have been killed since its start up.

The Norwegian Nobel Prize Committee said the award of the Nobel Peace Prize to Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov is intended to underscore the importance of protecting and defending these fundamental rights, emphasizing that free, independent and fact-based journalism serves to protect against abuse of power, lies and war propaganda.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here